The Muppet Movie Soundtrack Gets Colorful Remaster on Vinyl

Posted 2022/04/27 12 0


As vinyl collecting continues to grow among audiences, timeless soundtracks find their footing among collectors. Another beloved soundtrack has been re-released for such collectors, this one being 1979’s The Muppet Movie. The album is available for purchase from iam8bit, and it is beautiful.

On its website, iam8bit describes itself as “a creative production company that refuses to be pigeonholed, having crafted unique and memorable experiences for a broad spectrum of brands like HBO, Nintendo, PlayStation, Disney, MTV, Activision, Universal, Capcom, Interscope, Warner Bros., Machinima and countless others.” Their collection features not only records but statues, videogames, T-shirts, and more! On the listing for the album, they describe this labor of love as such:

PeraMovies News VIDEO OF THE DAY

It’s an absolute dream come true for iam8bit to collaborate with The Muppets Studio and Walt Disney Records to release this completely remastered revival of The Muppet Movie soundtrack on vinyl. (That feels sooooo good to say.) More than 40 years since it’s original release in 1979, we’ve rummaged backstage at The Muppet Theatre to dust off timeless recordings like the Oscar-nominated “Rainbow Connection” and the road trip ditty, “Movin’ Right Along,” sparing no executional detail to give this album the treatment it deserves. The music by legends, Paul Williams and Kenneth Ascher, is undisputedly excellent, charming in its love of lyricism, with perfectly-honed harmonies and arrangements. These are the songs that rocketed The Muppets from mere TV stardom to the realm of rockstars, featuring outstanding performances by Kermit the Frog, Miss Piggy, Fozzie Bear, Gonzo the Great, Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem (with Animal on wicked drums), and so many more. Statler and Waldorf would even approve of the outstanding album artwork by Kevin Wilson, who approached this design not merely as a commission, but as a lifelong obsession with The Muppets..

The vinyl record features a completely re-masted edition of the timeless songs which were originally written by Paul Williams and Kenneth Ascher. The track list can be read below.

  1. Rainbow Connection performed by Kermit (Jim Henson)
  2. Movin’ Right Along performed by Kermit and Fozzie (Jim Henson & Frank Oz)
  3. Never Before, Never Again performed by Miss Piggy (Frank Oz)
  4. Never Before, Never Again (Instrumental)
  5. I Hope that Somethin’ Better Comes Along performed by Kermit & Rowlf (Jim Henson)
  6. Can You Picture That? Performed by Dr. Teeth & The Electric Mayhem (Jim Henson, Frank Oz, Jerry Nelson, Richard Hunt and Dave Goelz)
  7. I Hope That Somethin’ Better Comes Along (Instrumental)
  8. I’m Going to go Back There Someday performed by Gonzo (Dave Goelz)
  9. America, performed by Fozzie (Frank Oz)
  10. Animal… Come Back Animal (Instrumental)
  11. Finale: The Magic Store, performed by The Muppets (Jim Henson, Frank Oz, Jerry Nelson, Richard Hunt, Dave Goelz, Steve Whitmire, and Kathryn Mullen)

As for the new packaging, this is absolutely one for collectors. The vinyl cover features beautiful new artwork by Kevin Wilson, which timelessly captures some of the film’s most memorable moments. Wilson previously did the artwork for iam8bit’s previous Muppet release, a remaster vinyl of The Muppet Christmas Carol. Another fun feature on this album is that it comes in two color options; collectors can choose either a Kermit green record, or a Miss Piggy pink! Dave Gardner is credited with mastering the album for the vinyl release.

For fans of The Muppets and Muppet music, this is sure to make the perfect gift! If that Muppet fan in your life has worn their original 1979 album to pieces, iam8bit has you covered! The Muppet Movie vinyl soundtrack is available for pre-order here!

Movies Reviews & News by PeraMovies.Club


Watch Movies Online Free


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments